Fng - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
Jeep-Short Wheelbase All discussion of short wheelbase Jeeps: CJ, TJ, YJ and JK

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of (permalink) Old 06-10-2007, 02:24 PM
FLCH

Fng

Afternoon all, I'm brand new to the Jeep community and to off-roading. I just bought a 2004 Jeep Wrangler X and would like to get some advice on what the best plan of action is to get into off-roading. Please bear in mind I'm a balding 48 year-old airline pilot that isn't into anything extreme, but would like to drive my Jeep other than tarmac. Any suggestions would be welcome. Thanks. FLCH
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of (permalink) Old 06-10-2007, 02:53 PM
nozzleram

Welcome. Not to long ago I was doing the same with 97 TJ. I think the best advice would be to protect the vehicle, then recovery equipment, and then go BIG with tires and lift! Driving a TJ in stock(ish) format is fun and will really teach you how to choose the best line. You'll have to work harder at getting through the trails without a lift and bigger tires. That makes you a better driver so when you go big with tires and lift you'll already have learned how your Jeep works.

Step one - Get a power steering skid plate, engine oil pan skid plate, a good gas tank skid plate, and some solid rocker rock sliders. Also before going out on the trail have solid tow points on both the front and rear so you can be yanked out if you get stuck. All of these are readily available from dozens of vendors on the web just do a quick search.