1980 CJ7 Smog Parts - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
Jeep-Short Wheelbase All discussion of short wheelbase Jeeps: CJ, TJ, YJ and JK

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of (permalink) Old 05-29-2007, 03:48 AM
OldSkull

1980 CJ7 Smog Parts

Hello,

I'm new to Jeepin, I just bought a CJ7 yesterday from Nevada and I need to get it smogged in California. (Already took it out fourwheelin') I looked most of the evening looking for some help in what I need to get it smogged. I think I need a smog pump and catalytic converter. Does anyone know what is required in California or where I can look. I don't want to act like afool and go to the smog referee and get tagged as a gross polluter or something like that.

I have a 1980 CJ7 Larado with a 304 and a T176 4 speed.

Any pointers will help.

Thanks.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of (permalink) Old 05-29-2007, 06:40 AM
Way Outta Control

Don't go to a Referee - go to any regular smog station and ASK them what it requires.
If you ask them to test it, it'll go into the State computer.
If you ask them to TELL you what it needs they can TELL you.
post #3 of (permalink) Old 05-29-2007, 04:37 PM
I Might Just Know What I'm Talking About

My 84 did not have a smog pump...it used and 'air induction' system.

You may need to find a junked 80 as a donor. At this point I'm going to say...good luck!..

There is a lot more I can tell you....but lets wait and see what kind of shape you are in first.

AKA DDawg16
84 CJ7, SOA, 5.7LTBI, 4L60E, 35"x12.5, 4.10 gears, F/Det, R/ARB, Full Roll Cage,
D44 Flat top in progress...
Link to my Frame up Restore
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of (permalink) Old 05-29-2007, 04:52 PM
chocolatetoothpaste

Try this stuff. Worked on my '67 VW Beetle. It stopped smoking after less than a tank of this stuff.

Edit: I just checked the domain and it is down. Try it in a day or so.

Last edited by chocolatetoothpaste; 05-29-2007 at 04:54 PM.