OT vacation starting very bad need to vent - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
Jeep-Short Wheelbase All discussion of short wheelbase Jeeps: CJ, TJ, YJ and JK

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of (permalink) Old 05-24-2007, 01:29 AM Thread Starter
Old Hand
 
jeepjunky's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 737
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
OT vacation starting very bad need to vent

Ok this sucks big time! Made and payed for my hotel reservations 5 mo ago. I arrive tonight only to find out that my reservation started the night before (ok So I pay for a night I didnt use...Im ok with that) BUT the hotel gave away my reservation to someone else...the only room avalable is going to double my cost!!! I reminded them adn showed them my recept for the room and they said...I dont care you didnt show up for the first night so we rented the room to someone else. Furthermore sence you missed the first night we are NOT going to reemburse the money you spent for the rest of the stay.
So here I am 11:00pm and 6hr drive from home my kids sleeping in the jeep and no place to stay!!! 11:30pm I finnaly find a room in a diffrent hotel (for less than what the first hotel was going to add to my bill...)
to top it off it is now snowing, so I doubt that I will get to go wheeling. and if I cant get the first hotel to reemburse my bill ($480+), then I wont be able to finish the trip by going to Moab...thus I flat towed my TJ for nothing!!!!%$#^^. The hotel I started with is a large chain and I will call customer servcice in a few hrs when they open.
Wish me luck, and thanks for letting me vent!
jeepjunky is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of (permalink) Old 05-24-2007, 06:33 AM
Moderator
 
Jim_Lou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Belleville, Illinois
Posts: 11,485
Thanks: 15
Thanked 22 Times in 17 Posts
         
Since the hotel has the room rented to someone else, there's no excuse for them kieeping your money for the same room. If it had to sit empty it would be a different story. I forsee a good ending to this.

EVERYTHING's easy for the guy who doesn't have to do it.
B. Dash Fabrication
Jim_Lou is offline  
post #3 of (permalink) Old 05-24-2007, 07:25 AM
Keyboard Implanted
 
mbalbritton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Winston-Salem, NC
Posts: 3,833
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Do you still have the original Itenerary that the Hotel or travel agency SHOULD have email/faxed/mailed to you? If you do and you are correct on the dates, you should have your money back, a voucher for a free stay, and someones testicles hanging over your fireplace.

The belief in a supernatural source of evil is not necessary; men alone are quite capable of every wickedness. - Joseph Conrad
mbalbritton is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of (permalink) Old 05-24-2007, 08:33 AM
Way Outta Control
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: The Palouse
Posts: 13,432
Thanks: 1
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
 
.... and why can't you make Moab? You should be able to drop down south to Kansas/Colorado and take I-70 to avoid the nasty weather up north...
LEVE is offline  
post #5 of (permalink) Old 05-24-2007, 01:06 PM
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 137
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbalbritton View Post
Do you still have the original Itenerary that the Hotel or travel agency SHOULD have email/faxed/mailed to you? If you do and you are correct on the dates, you should have your money back, a voucher for a free stay, and someones testicles hanging over your fireplace.
[email protected] straight.
FiveSpeedWrangler is offline  
post #6 of (permalink) Old 05-24-2007, 06:55 PM
Old Hand
 
sourpwr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 729
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
That sucks. Was it a pre-paid, internet special, reservation or was it a standard reservation with a credit card guarantee?

If it was a standard reservation then you should only be out 1 day -- that is pretty standard. If it is the credit card guarantee, then you may be out of luck. The best thing to do is call the 800 number and plead your case, politely. Make sure to point out that the hotel would not honor the remaining days of the reservation at the rate paid. You may have to persistent in your requests.

-- Mike
sourpwr is offline  
post #7 of (permalink) Old 05-31-2007, 09:30 PM Thread Starter
Old Hand
 
jeepjunky's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 737
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Ok heres the update...BEST WESTERN is privatly owned. The owner of the BEST WESTERN in ESTES PARK, has an unwritten policy that if you pay for a room and dont show up they can re book your room and you do not get a refund!!!! BEST WESTERN says that its up to the local owner how to represent the BEST WESTERN chain and they have no say in it!!!!
This means I had to pay extra money to get a diffrent room in the same place. At first I thought that it was going to tack on another $400 for my stay (and thats why I was going to need to cansel Moab), instead it cost me in total 120ish (60 for the first night...I was to pissed to pay extra to stay at the first place...so I got a room at a diffrent hotel 80ish, and 60ish for the rest of the stay at BEST WESTERN.)
I ended up at Moab and it was awsome...But I did learn that BEST WESTERN HOTEL IS NOT A REPUTABLE HOTEL ADN THINK IT IS OK TO STEAL FROM ITS GUESTS!!!!!!! BOOK AND STAY AT THAT HOTEL AT YOUR OWN FINACIAL RISK!!!!
jeepjunky is offline  
post #8 of (permalink) Old 06-09-2007, 05:43 AM
Enthusiast
 
RickCJ7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Longmont, Colorado
Posts: 277
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Sorry to hear that you had the problems. Estes Park is a nice place, so the hotel owner has probably figured out that this policy won't cost them anything, as evidenced by quickly re-selling your room. I didn't have that pesky snow problem by going to Nebraska. I hope you were able to enjoy the rest of your vacation.

Can you hear the silence?

"The single biggest problem with communication is the illusion that it's taken place." George Bernard Shaw

"Just because I can afford to lose money don't mean I should do it." Charles Barkley
RickCJ7 is offline  
post #9 of (permalink) Old 06-10-2007, 06:05 PM Thread Starter
Old Hand
 
jeepjunky's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 737
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Estes was nice, except for the obvious hotel issue. I did end up making it to Moab and it was awsome! It is now hard to get excited about going jeeping in Nebraska...O-well guess ill have to do more traveling
jeepjunky is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome