Questions on an upgrade to the Ford 8.8 - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
Jeep-Short Wheelbase All discussion of short wheelbase Jeeps: CJ, TJ, YJ and JK

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of (permalink) Old 05-15-2007, 03:19 PM Thread Starter
Enthusiast

Questions on an upgrade to the Ford 8.8

My son is picking up the axle this week and we are getting started. It's going in his 95 YJ. What are the pros/cons of limited slip diff versus lockers on the rear? And what is limited slip? Since the donor axle is a 97 it should have disk brakes, 4:10 gears and probably limited slip. Patience please, I'm still learning.

Brent & Sons
49-CJ3A, 63-CJ5
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of (permalink) Old 05-15-2007, 03:39 PM
Keyboard Implanted

the gears and limited slip were options......i dont think 100% of axles had them....depends on the donor vehicle.

you want to find one that matches your gear ratio up front so you can use 4wd....if you ahve a 4cylinder engine (2.5L) you will need the 4.10 if you have factory gears up front.

my axle came from a 97 explorer and was an open differential. I (actually knifeboy-nick pushed me out of the way and did it cuz i wasnt fast enough) installed an aussie locker into it which made it locked.

limited slip allows some difference in speed between the two wheels....a full locker will "lock" the two wheels together so they are forced to turn at the same rate. limited slip is easier on the street, but a locker is superior offorad.

-----------
Doesn't-have-a-Jeep'n Greg
VISIT MY GUN STORE: http://www.AmericasBasement.com
post #3 of (permalink) Old 05-15-2007, 03:50 PM

A limited slip diff has clutches that are squeezed together by the drive torque applied to the wheels. When the clutches are squeezed together tight enough the diff is locked. On the street when you go around a turn the outside wheel tries to get ahead of the inside wheel. That releases the pressure on the clutches and lets it roll ahead.