Engine shuts off - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
Jeep-Short Wheelbase All discussion of short wheelbase Jeeps: CJ, TJ, YJ and JK

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of (permalink) Old 05-08-2007, 12:20 PM
Troc832

Engine shuts off

Hi to all and thanks in advance for any possible help.

1985 Jeep CJ7 4.2L 6

My problem originally was the exhaust manifold was glowing and the idling seemed high, but engine would stall if idle was lowered. I was able to find some insight by finding Off-Road.com, but since I am a newbie dont really get all of it.
Reason being due to no understanding some of the verbage. Does ECM stands for the computer or ECU, what do the abreviations stand for I have ideas but they dont seem to match. Here is the original help tread that suggest what I am going through.

Hello!