road tire recommendations - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
Jeep-Short Wheelbase All discussion of short wheelbase Jeeps: CJ, TJ, YJ and JK

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of (permalink) Old 01-08-2007, 05:13 PM Thread Starter
Veteran

road tire recommendations

i have been running 33" bfg mud's on the jeep for 2 years. i never realized how loud they are until i bought a used set of 31" at's for my relocation/road-trip to alabama. so now i am really liking the quiet and the added mpg. so i am looking for some tires that are better for dd use but still are marginal for the occasional spontaneous excursion. i have not been impressed with bfg at's in the passed. also i know that tires also vary in size between manufacturers. the current 31's (are pretty worn) but only measure 29" so i would like something somewhere between them and my 33's (i think they are 32" new)

so any recommendations for a quiet, 30something tire that doesn't totally suck off-road?

thanks
shawn
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of (permalink) Old 01-08-2007, 09:45 PM
Keyboard Implanted

Re: road tire recommendations

Hmmmm, If you weren't impressed with the BFG AT's, I'm not sure what will impress you short of a mud tire. I've always had BFG AT's on my DD trucks and have been happy with them. Good in snow, rain, dry, they only get a little loud once they are almost worn out, but the only 'off roading' they see is the occational trip down the trail to our cabin (not too treacherous) in the winter, or dry weather wheelin in that same area. Everything is pretty solid though, no need for Mud Tires.

Maybe a set of 'street' tires like long trails or something like them, and a set of nasty off road claw tires...I know, thats the same reason I dont have 2 sets of tires ($), but everything is a compromise one way or the other.
post #3 of (permalink) Old 01-08-2007, 10:17 PM Thread Starter
Veteran