pinion shims - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
Jeep-Short Wheelbase All discussion of short wheelbase Jeeps: CJ, TJ, YJ and JK

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of (permalink) Old 09-01-2006, 10:48 PM Thread Starter
Stranger

pinion shims

I got a genuine gear master install kit for my amc 20 rear end in a 1985 jeep cj7.kit # 35-2025 it is supose to have pinion shims as well as carrier shims bearing etc. but I think the pinion shims in this kit are for on the pinion shaft because they are small and marked sk4 . As far a I know the pinion shims go behind the inner pionion cup not between the bearing and the head of the pinion gear. Am I right is this kit paked wrong. does any one know where I can get pinion shims by them selves, and can any one tell me what the sk numbers on the pakaging is about I have looked at numerouse pictures of kits on the net and they all have diffent #'s in the pakage over the shims?
Thanks Brian
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of (permalink) Old 09-01-2006, 11:48 PM
**DONOTDELETE**

Re: pinion shims

Have you ever set up gears before?

If not...stop right now and find someone who does it for a living....trust me, it's worth the money....

However, if you really want to test the "No questions asked" warranty on the gears, then give it a try....I've done it....and I'll never do it again.,....

Regarding your original question....I recall two sets of shims, one of the pinion and another for the carrier....

The pinion shims go between the cup (race) and the case....

I would suggest using your old bearing as the test fit bearing...take a motto tool or something similar and open up the inner part so that it sides easy on the pinion shaft....it's a lot easier than beating the pinion out every time....
post #3 of (permalink) Old 09-01-2006, 11:57 PM Thread Starter
Stranger