Leaky soft top? - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
Jeep-Short Wheelbase All discussion of short wheelbase Jeeps: CJ, TJ, YJ and JK

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of (permalink) Old 09-01-2006, 09:49 PM
Apollo732

Leaky soft top?

If this topic has been delt with before I am sorry.. I tried to search first but I could not find anything. I am a newbie though!!

My question is, If it rains very much or very hard my (soft)top seems to leak from the seams. I bought some tent sealer but it didn't seem to stop it. Any products that really do work out there or any advice would be appreciated very much.

One more thing, is there any product out there to deal with the meldew smell inside the jeep..

Thanks in advance
B
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of (permalink) Old 09-01-2006, 11:12 PM
Way Outta Control

Re: Leaky soft top?

Get yourself some wax, melt it and drip it into the seams. Use a heatgun/hair dryer to help work the wax into the seams. It's not foolproof, but it helps.
post #3 of (permalink) Old 09-02-2006, 12:45 AM
Keyboard Implanted

how did you apply the tent sealer?

many tent sealers need to be applied from the inside of the seam......others need to be used on the outside.....hopefully you followed directions. [img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/blush.gif[/img]

...but then again...my tents always leak....so dont take my advice [img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img]
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of (permalink) Old 09-02-2006, 05:59 AM

The mildew smell seems to go with the Jeep. Leaving it in the sun with the doors off will clear it out, but as soon as it gets damp the smell will be back.

The standard remedy for mildew is a dilute solution of laundry bleach in water, but some soft tops specifically say not to use that on them. If you don't have information for your top, I'd advise against using bleach.
post #5 of (permalink) Old 09-02-2006, 08:57 AM
Apollo732