Best Setup? - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
Jeep-Short Wheelbase All discussion of short wheelbase Jeeps: CJ, TJ, YJ and JK

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of (permalink) Old 01-04-2006, 06:36 PM
Drew_Jeep14

Best Setup?

Im pretty new to the whole offroading. I live in Nebraska and just got a stock 2004 jeep wrangler sahara. What is the best suspension/tire setup for 50/50 street and offroad use with mainly mudding/trail and some rock climbing (not many mountains in Nebraska. My dad works for Goodyear and gets a 25% discount so i was thinking of going with 31 x 10.5' Goodyear Wrangler MT/R's and maybe a Superide 1.75' lift? I dont have enough money to go super huge but i dont wanna go to small, ya kno? Thanks for the help!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of (permalink) Old 01-05-2006, 09:02 AM
Veteran

Re: Best Setup?

Since you stated that you are "new to the whole offroading thing" and that you "just got" your Jeep, I would suggest that you leave it alone. Wheel it stock for a while. Learn what it (and the driver) can and can't do. Go on trail rides with a club. After a while, you will realize what you need to do to the Jeep to make it perform how you want.
post #3 of (permalink) Old 01-05-2006, 09:20 AM

Also along the lines of leaving it alone until you know what it and you are capable of... you can fit those 31" MTRs on it stock... you'd be suprised what you can accomplish with a good set of tires and some determination....
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of (permalink) Old 01-05-2006, 10:40 AM
Can't Get Enough

[ QUOTE ]
not many mountains in Nebraska

[/ QUOTE ]

Must not live on the good end of the state! Here in the Panhandle we only have a couple hour drive to some of the most technical trails in the country up in the Black Hills. Then there is Chadron State Park, the river runs down in North Platte and some other secret locations!
post #5 of (permalink) Old 01-05-2006, 11:34 AM
**DONOTDELETE**