OT - Linux Operating Systems - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
Jeep-Short Wheelbase All discussion of short wheelbase Jeeps: CJ, TJ, YJ and JK

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of (permalink) Old 01-03-2006, 06:34 PM Thread Starter
Can't Get Enough

OT - Linux Operating Systems

Just curious how many of you guys are really into Linux and run a complete Linux operating system? If you do, which linux are you running and how do you like it?

I'm a newbie to all the Linux stuff (heard about it for years, but just now starting to get into it).

I'm actually using Knoppix and Firefox right now to type this post, just playing around with it. I am pretty impressed since this is all done on a bootable CD that you can take anywhere and also use for diagnostics, etc.

I'm thinking about converting this desktop computer completely to linux since it is just an oldie that I have sitting around and I want to experiment a little with Linux.

The reason I downloaded Knoppix to begin with was to see if my old Compaq and its hardware would be compatible...everything booted up nicely and seems to work.

Now I just need to decide whether I want to tey Fedora, Mandrake, SuSE, etc. for my complete system.

I started all this this weekend when we found out at work that microsoft is starting to limit the number of action packs to one per company, so things are going to get really expensive for licensing, etc.

So I started playing around with some of this stuff and also openoffice, which if you haven't tried it, I recommend you give it a shot. Its an office suite thats free and so far works well for the things I have tested on it (spreadsheets with mocros, etc.). I will probably be using it for some of our guys tech laptops, etc. since they don't use Microsoft Office programs much, and they will be able to use open office and it won't cost anything and is compatible with microsfot office....well rambled on long enough...give me your linux insights and recommendations....