CJ info - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
Jeep-Short Wheelbase All discussion of short wheelbase Jeeps: CJ, TJ, YJ and JK

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of (permalink) Old 01-01-2006, 10:28 AM Thread Starter

CJ info

I need help and I know you guys are always screaming "search engine!!!!" but it works for crap. So if somone could direct me to a site or page where i can learn this stuff i would'nt be so lost here. I have an '85 CJ-7, stock asfar as I know except for 3" shakle lift, 33's and a webber carb. The U-bolts on front passenger spring are bent so I was wondering if i'm gonna replace 'em anyway shaould i look into SOA and if so I NEED DIRECTIONS! I hear you can upgrade brakes with YJ, is this true and WHERE IS THIS INFO?? and if anyone has good site with info where I can learn I would be much obliged. I'm not a master mechanic BUT I HAVE TO START SOMeWHERE!! WHERE??
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of (permalink) Old 01-01-2006, 11:26 AM

Re: CJ info

Relax and stop SCREAMING WITH THE CAPS LOCK ON, it take paticne and resourcefulness to build a jeep.

Wow, a boat load of questions. First off what do you use your jeep for and what are you looking to built it into? You might get more help if you broke this post down in the several specfic post like Should I do a spring Over and CJ brake upgrades.

If your asking how to do a spring over it's probably not for you. A spring over is 100 times more involved and expensive then replacing a u-bolt. There's much more then welding on new preches to do a spring over right. I did a spring over on a yj for pretty cheep but we were very resourceful and did lots of fabrication.

Cut those shackles down so they are only giving you 1/2"-1" of lift and find a quality 2.5" spring lift kit. Most lift kits will include u-bolts.