t150 trans seals - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
Jeep-Short Wheelbase All discussion of short wheelbase Jeeps: CJ, TJ, YJ and JK

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of (permalink) Old 12-11-2005, 09:05 AM Thread Starter

t150 trans seals

Yesterday I was replacing the seals on my t150, when I went to replace the front seal, I took of the cover and the seal seemed to be on backwards, the flat metal portion of the seal was facing in and the rubber seal part was facing outwards, this was the first time I've ever replaced seals on a jeep, I'm a Volvo mechanic and when we install seals they are installed the opposite way, with the seal facing inwards. When I went to replace the rear seal, I took off the gears that connect to the transfer case, I was surprised to find that there was no seal at all, their was a place for a seal but it looked like there was never one installed. I'm assuming that it's not too imparitvie because it looks like their are passages for fluid to flow between the trans and t-case, but it struck me as odd because in every exploded view of the trans they show a rear seal, is it necessary? and does it go on like the front seal with the flat metal part inside and the rubber seal facing out? Also is their a torque spec for the large nut on rear/output
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of (permalink) Old 12-11-2005, 10:46 AM

Re: t150 trans seals

My guess: Some seals are double-lip, and prevent passage of fluid equally well (nearly) in either direction. If you look closely at the part that contacts the shaft you will see that it forms a 'V' with the tops of the V touching the shaft. The way they go in is probably to make it easy to install and replace.

Single-lip seals have only half of the V. They are installed so that the edge slopes toward the flow it's trying to prevent.