newbie question: ragtop and arizona - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
Jeep-Short Wheelbase All discussion of short wheelbase Jeeps: CJ, TJ, YJ and JK

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of (permalink) Old 12-04-2005, 09:46 PM
jdawgaz

newbie question: ragtop and arizona

I am brand new to arizona. I have been coming for years but am finally here. Now on to the real question.

I have wanted a Jeep for many years. Before buying, I would like to know one thing. I will be using my new Jeep wrangler every day, in Phoenix 5 days/week, and off-road 2 days/week. I see a lot of Jeeps with rag-tops and some with hard-tops. Which is better in Arizona? Which would be better in the heat? Will the A/C work better in the heat of summer with a hard-top?

Anyway what do you have, and how does it work for you? And if you have one of the two, and had it to do all over again, would you change your mind and why?

Thanks,

Jerry
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of (permalink) Old 12-04-2005, 11:10 PM
Keyboard Implanted

Re: newbie question: ragtop and arizona

A/C and heat in the newer jeeps is WAY strong enough to cool in the summer and heat in the winter with the soft top. We hang out in southern Cali deserts with soft tops and the A/C cranked up and it downright civil.
post #3 of (permalink) Old 12-05-2005, 01:12 AM

Ive got both tops for my 02 Wrangler. The hard top keeps the tire noise to a minimum, but the soft top is more than sufficient for heating/cooling. Plus, if you do any offroad stuff and want to take the hard top off, its pretty hard to do by yourself. The softtop is much more flexible and solo user friendly.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of (permalink) Old 12-05-2005, 09:40 AM
Enthusiast