Winch question - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
Jeep-Short Wheelbase All discussion of short wheelbase Jeeps: CJ, TJ, YJ and JK

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of (permalink) Old 09-15-2005, 01:34 PM Thread Starter

Winch question

I own an 02 Wrangler and Im relatively new to wheeling. I would like to buy a winch but need some input. I have seen some off-name brands that are half the cost of Warn winches (which seem to be the most popularly used) and list the same features and capacities. I'd like to save $, but ultimately I want a very reliable and capable piece of equipment, regardless of price (within reason). Anyone have any experience/recommendations. Also, should I look into aftermarket bumper setups? I dont really plan on running any supplemental lighting and hard core rockclimbing isnt my thing. Can I attach a 8000 or 9000 lb winch to the factory front bumper? Any help would be great and Im open to suggestions.

franco618
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of (permalink) Old 09-15-2005, 01:43 PM
Way Outta Control

Re: Winch question

With a winch... you get what you pay for. Do it once and forget it... The tow bill for getting your rig outta the bush can easily be more that the difference betweeen the Chinese winch and the good ol' Warn winch.

post #3 of (permalink) Old 09-15-2005, 01:55 PM
I Might Just Know What I'm Talking About

You can't neccessarily "attach the winch to the front bumper", but you would be buying a "mount kit" which would provide a winch mounting bracket that would attach to the holes in your frame, on the front of the Jeep, in the area in front of the grill.

I think it would be wise to stick with one of the big 3 - Warn, Ramsey, or Superwinch. Some of the other products out there can be questionable.

Good luck
Pete
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of (permalink) Old 09-15-2005, 02:06 PM Thread Starter

Thanks for the input. Id rather know its good than hope it is