Trying to save gas, would this work... - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
Jeep-Short Wheelbase All discussion of short wheelbase Jeeps: CJ, TJ, YJ and JK

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of (permalink) Old 08-31-2005, 05:30 PM
OnlyINaJeepFAU

Trying to save gas, would this work...

I know this sounds crazy, but I am a full time college student, I have 2 jobs, one right down the street from home in the AM, and one in the evening. I commute 18 miles north of my house to go to school 5 days a week, and then 15 miles south of home every night for job #2. With the recent hurricane, gas prices are getting beyond my reach, and being a 2nd year mechanical engineering major, I started thinking of things to do to my jeep that would help with gas miliage. So here goes, it sounds crazy to me, but what the heck, curiosity is killing me.
I have the 4 liter 242" inline 6/ NV-3550 5 speed in a 2003 TJ, and my question is this. If I pull the plug wires off of 2 cylinders and unplug the injectors for the same 2 to "theoretically" run the engine on 4 cylinders, will this hurt the engine in any way? I am sure this will send some kind of trouble code to the computer, but will that do anything negative other than turn on the check engine light? As you can see, I am getting desperate...
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of (permalink) Old 08-31-2005, 05:58 PM
**DONOTDELETE**

Re: Trying to save gas, would this work...

No...will not help. Besides running like crape, the other 4 cylinders are having to work to just compress air in the dead cylinders. About the only way it would work would be to pull the push rods or remove the plugs (which then make you sound like a steam engine). Even so, you will not see a worth while increase in MPG.

May I suggest that you increas air pressue in the tires to at least 32PSI and make sure you are not carrying around any excess weight. Adjusting your driving style will help.....most likely more than trying to run on 4 cyl.