Exhaust Opinions. - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
Jeep-Short Wheelbase All discussion of short wheelbase Jeeps: CJ, TJ, YJ and JK

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of (permalink) Old 05-18-2005, 08:58 AM Thread Starter
Keyboard Implanted

Exhaust Opinions.

The time in my jeep build has come to put together the Exhaust system. I have been planning dual 2-1/2" exhaust right from the get go on my jeep, and I am now being faced with the realization that I do not have room for that.

The motor is a SBC 350, mildly built to deliver +/- 300 hp. My plan was to run 2.5" duels down each side, through a pair of Flowmaster 40 series mufflers, and exit out the back behind each tire.
Now that everything is together, there is no chace that I have room for that. I am going to have to run a single exhaust? I am thinking that I will run a Y connection from the headers, and run 3" exhaust back, into a Cat, then into a 3" Flowmaster 40 series (because I have a flowmaster guy) then out the back.
Does 3" sound right for about 300 hp. I seem to remember seeing a chart in a catalog.. (thought it was summit) that gave ball park exhaust size related to HP... But I can't for the life of me find it.
Any opinions on the subject would be great.... I am going to miss the beautiful sound of True duels out of a V8.

Thanks for any info.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of (permalink) Old 05-18-2005, 09:26 AM
**DONOTDELETE**

Re: Exhaust Opinions.

Yes...you would be ok with 2 1/2" as well.....but 3 is better, anything over that is a waste.

Note, even with 3", it's going to be tight. I'm doing an SBC as well...not at the exhaust yet, but I already talked to the muffler guy about it. He recently did a jeep just like yours....3"...and it was tight...the biggest problem is the y connection....there is no room behind the motor...you have to go under the pan..

Expect to pay about $800 or so....less if you don't have a Cat....and make sure your following any state smog laws....