Setting a clicker type torque wrench - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
Jeep-Short Wheelbase All discussion of short wheelbase Jeeps: CJ, TJ, YJ and JK

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of (permalink) Old 05-10-2005, 12:08 PM Thread Starter

Setting a clicker type torque wrench

I used my deflection beam type torque wrench to set my wheel bearings up. However, I have a Mastercraft (that's Canadian Tire's brand to all you in the US of A) clicker type torque wrench as well. The kind you pull down a collar to turn the handle to the setting at which it will click when the torque is reached.

Problem is that I can't remember how to read the setting. For every number, there are two lines parallel to the edge of the collar. I can't figure out which line to turn it to.

For example

_____ 90
/
____

______ 80
/
____

So do I turn it up to the bottom line (I believe??) or the top line with the number? Why the heck did they do it like this? I know it makes reading the numbers easier, but I'm too dumb to remember which one you line up and don't want to be out by 10 lb-ft.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of (permalink) Old 05-10-2005, 12:24 PM

Re: Setting a clicker type torque wrench

[ QUOTE ]
For example

_____ 90
/
____

______ 80
/
____

So do I turn it up to the bottom line (I believe??) or the top line with the number? Why the heck did they do it like this? I know it makes reading the numbers easier, but I'm too dumb to remember which one you line up and don't want to be out by 10 lb-ft.

[/ QUOTE ]

For a reading of 85 ft lbs you would set it to:

_____90
/
______ <font color="red"> 85 </font>
/
____80

you would place the edge of the rotating sleeve at the line maked 85 in red.

The 80 would be under the sleeve and the 90 would be visible above the edge and the line between 80-90 would be AT the edge.

Did that make sense????? [img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/confused.gif[/img] Or not!!!!! [img]/ubbthreads/images/graemlins/grin.gif[/img]