Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups

Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups (https://forums.off-road.com/forum.php)
-   Jeep-Short Wheelbase (https://forums.off-road.com/jeep-short-wheelbase/)
-   -   Hypothetical - CJ7 stretch to CJ8 (https://forums.off-road.com/jeep-short-wheelbase/193801-hypothetical-cj7-stretch-cj8.html)

relsner 05-30-2004 11:50 PM

Hypothetical - CJ7 stretch to CJ8

Ok, so heres the story, I have an 84 CJ7 that I have been working on for a few years and it is running great, has several excellent mods thanks to this board. I do not want to part with it. It is a very solid rig that I have spent a fair amount of time and money on but not it is not a serious crawler. I also have a wife and two small kids that like to go up in the Colorado mountains with the <nobr>jeep</nobr> as well. The problem as you all know is that a CJ7 does not have much room for anything but a few passengers. Now I do have a trailer, a jamboree rack and hitch rack but don't care to much for those. What I could use is a CJ8 just for the extra space behind the second seat. However, I do not want to buy a new project when mine is good.

So here is what I was wondering. Could you cut off the end of a CJ7 and extend the frame and body to the length of a CJ8. As mentioned in the title this is mostly a hypothetical question but I might consider it depending upon the answers. I know you guys are great thinkers so tell me what you think the issues, pitfalls, concerns, benefits etc. of this might be.