Thinking of Buying 92 Wrangler (Previous Rental) - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
Jeep-Short Wheelbase All discussion of short wheelbase Jeeps: CJ, TJ, YJ and JK

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of (permalink) Old 10-08-2003, 01:29 AM
**DONOTDELETE**

Thinking of Buying 92 Wrangler (Previous Rental)

Hi All,

I am new to jeeps and am looking to buy a '92 Jeep Wrangler, 5 spd, PS, PB, 177K miles. I test drove it and it seems to drive fine. It was previous a rental jeep here on Maui. My question is on how reliable these vehicles are, typically? Lots of people tell me that their friends have jeeps and there always fixing them. I want to buy something that will last me just a year or two, without much trouble. Is this the vehicle to go for Or, should I look for a different year/model jeep? I won't be doing much offroading, if any. Just something to use as a fun island ride.

Thanks a ton for any advice you have!

Ryan
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of (permalink) Old 10-08-2003, 02:23 AM
Carpal \'Tunnel

Re: Thinking of Buying 92 Wrangler (Previous Rental)

A '92 YJ Wrangler is a nice vehicle. If you aren't very mechanically able I'd spend the few bucks to have a well known mechanic take a look at it for wear. As a rental chances are it was taken off-road and abused. The great thing is its a Jeep and can take quite a bit of abuse. I'd check all fluids to make sure they've been taken care of. Fluids can tell you a lot about a vehicles condition.

Right now you say you only want a Jeep for a year or two, but once you own it for 2 months you'll always want a Jeep. Some Jeeps that aren't taken care of do need a lot of work a lot of the time. The key is proper maintainance.

For a fun island ride a Jeep is perfect.
post #3 of (permalink) Old 10-08-2003, 02:39 AM
Veteran

Location: Milwaukee(which is algonquin for the good land)WI U.S.A