Quick Carter cleaning! - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
Jeep-Short Wheelbase All discussion of short wheelbase Jeeps: CJ, TJ, YJ and JK

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of (permalink) Old 09-15-2003, 02:57 PM
mjt

Quick Carter cleaning!

Hey guys, for you guys, like me, who can't afford fuel injection. I've been cleaning my venturi tubes with computer duster compressed gas. I just put the plastic extenions tube on the top and give each of them a couple quck blasts. I've been doing this for 8 months only 5 time in total with no effects to my carb. When it starts running rough I just let it cool and a couple quick blasts and its running smooth agian. It works for me. Just thought I would pass it on.

I did not vote for my prime minister.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of (permalink) Old 09-15-2003, 03:00 PM

Re: Quick Carter cleaning!

A great tip! Which carter do you have? Is it the 1-barrel YF?
post #3 of (permalink) Old 09-15-2003, 03:07 PM
mjt

I used to have the yf but, my manifold cracked, so I had the a set of 2 bbl manifolds and put them on. I have the carter bbd, the real bad one, but its wotking great for me. I'm sure this would work on the yf as well. [img]images/graemlins/40BEER.gif[/img]
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of (permalink) Old 09-15-2003, 03:49 PM
Old Hand

Welcome to the board. Thanx, I think its been a while since someone piped up just to add some useful info. I don't have a Carter, but I'm sure I'll impress all of my friends when I get their bbd's running smooth so easily. [img]images/graemlins/40BEER.gif[/img]
post #5 of (permalink) Old 09-15-2003, 04:20 PM

A "mechanic" also told me of a "Trail Fix" for them.

You take the #3 and #4 plug wires and reverse them, then, with the throttle plates closed, turn the engine over a couple of times. In theory it should work, pushing the gas air mixture up through the carb circuit without igniting.