Question: I am about to purchase my first Jeep - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
Jeep-Short Wheelbase All discussion of short wheelbase Jeeps: CJ, TJ, YJ and JK

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of (permalink) Old 08-01-2003, 11:46 AM
**DONOTDELETE**

Question: I am about to purchase my first Jeep

I am new to this post and I am about to buy my first jeep. I have the choice between two rigs and I would like to have your opinion on what will be a better rig for street (local) and off-road excursions. The choices are:

1974 CJ-5 - 304 v8 rebuilt tranny and gears, fiberglass tub, alot of extras including 3 tops 2 sets of doors. beefy suspension will fit 33's easy with no modification.

1984 Cherokee 2 door- 4cylinder engine, body in good condition, suspension lift, pushing 31 inch tires. Roof rack, trail ready

Both jeeps are running and ready to trail but i want to buy the one that will give me the best mix of trail and road (driving to the trail) that I can get. They are both the same price so the issue is only which one is best. Thanks for your help!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of (permalink) Old 08-01-2003, 11:56 AM
Addict

Re: Question: I am about to purchase my first Jeep

Stay away from the Cherokee with the 4 cylinder. You will never be satisfied - that 4 really is only good for cruising straight flat roads. The CJ5 with the 8 cylinder is a better setup- but if you are not familiar with Jeeps I would give that setup a lot of respect. Short wheelbase, higher off the ground with a lot of power can mean flipping if you are not careful and don't respect the power you are able to produce. Good luck.

Scott
post #3 of (permalink) Old 08-01-2003, 11:58 AM
Keyboard Implanted

They are both going to give you lots of joy and lots of fits...the 304 is a good reliable motor if taken care of. The 4 popper in the XJ is a dog...you will hate it by next week.