CJ5 Stored for 10 yr. What to check/Replace?? - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
Jeep-Short Wheelbase All discussion of short wheelbase Jeeps: CJ, TJ, YJ and JK

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of (permalink) Old 07-19-2003, 09:12 PM Thread Starter
Journeyman

CJ5 Stored for 10 yr. What to check/Replace??

I am acquiring a 1975 CJ5 with the 304 V8. It runs, but has been mostly in a garage for the last 10 years, only started and run about twice a year.

What should I check or just replace because it has surely died?

My list so far is:
Tires
Oil Change
Battery
Lube all chassis points
Lube Running Gear (axles, trans, Xfer, etc.)
Replace rear Springs (PO Welded them)

My plan is to keep it mostly stock. It will be a daily driver with occasional off road. I also plan to put a Bestop Supertop and after market A/C (Florida gets in the 100's during summer)

BTW I'm a newbie to this board and have been reading it obsessively since I settled on the CJ project. You guys and gals are a great wealth of knowledge.

Thanks in advance for your help.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of (permalink) Old 07-19-2003, 10:19 PM

Re: CJ5 Stored for 10 yr. What to check/Replace??

You are going to want to change all fluids. Differentials, tranny, transfer case, power steering and radiator. They will collect water from condensation. Make sure all your breather holes on the axles trannies etc are open. Do not run it very far before you change oil. I would drain the gas and fill it with some good stuff and then add a cleaner that also takes out water. Really you should drop the tank and look in it to make sure there isn't any rust in it. You will fight it for quite a while if you don't. Check for mice stuff everywhere. Good luck 10 years is a long time. Eventually you will be changing a lot of seals because they are cracked and will most likely leak. Replace them as they go.
post #3 of (permalink) Old 07-19-2003, 10:31 PM
Addict