Badly leaking Dana 44, help with R&R of seals! - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
Jeep-Short Wheelbase All discussion of short wheelbase Jeeps: CJ, TJ, YJ and JK

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of (permalink) Old 07-12-2003, 07:19 PM
**DONOTDELETE**

Badly leaking Dana 44, help with R&R of seals!

Hi all,

I am a 1976 International Scout ll Terra owner, but figured you guys new all about Dana 44's. First off, forgive me it this has been covered to death. I tried the search function, but did not find what I was looking for.

My Rear Dana 44 leaks badly from the pinion seal and the Right Wheel end seal (picture of axle attached...just in case I am way wrong and don't have dana 44). I have never done any work on axles before. As far as I can tell, I have the 'Unit bearing' type of axle. I have a service manual for my rig, but am looking for any pearls of wisdom when it comes to pulling axles and re-sealing. Any and all suggestions welcome!

Thank you!

-Richard
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 1145829-Rear_diff.JPG (63.2 KB, 61 views)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of (permalink) Old 07-12-2003, 10:56 PM
**DONOTDELETE**

Re: Badly leaking Dana 44, help with R&R of seals!

hey man
you got a dana 44 there. I can tell you how to overhaul a C-clip axle but I have never had any experience with a non-c-lip axle. can you find that out and then reply to this. I will be back later and keep checking for your response saying if it is a c-clip or non axle. what the heck let me just describe how to overhaul a c-clip axle and you can apply this information to a non c-clip axle if that what you have. oh and if you have no clue what a c-clip does is it retains the axle except in the case of the axle breaking (I speak from experience of first week of owning my new jeep).