Lift Ideas...? - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
Jeep-Short Wheelbase All discussion of short wheelbase Jeeps: CJ, TJ, YJ and JK

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of (permalink) Old 06-17-2003, 05:04 PM
304CJ7

Lift Ideas...?

Alright this is my first time posting here so dont be too harsh on me. I own a 1982 Jeep CJ7 w/ a 304 V8 swapped in. It has add-a-leafs now and 31x10.5's. I have a set of 33x12.5's and i want to know how much i need to lift it to fit them. I would like to eventually run 35's when these tires wear down. So would a 4in lift kit (I have my eyes on the trailmaster kit b/c it seems to be complete) ride about the same as the aal? B/c if thats the story i am definatly getting the 4incher. I also plan on a 1in poly urathane bodylift and .5 in shackles if i need to. Will gearing or driveline vibrations be a problem? I can get it regeared w/o a problem b/c i do auto body repair and have some pretty good connections. If i did put the 4in + 1 + .5 thats only 5.5inches and i dont know if i would clear 35's. I would consider a 2in b/l and 4.5 RE lift if i need it to clear 35's but that would be a little expensive. Please help me out here. Thanks, Taylor
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of (permalink) Old 06-17-2003, 05:12 PM

Re: Lift Ideas...?

Welcome,

I really like the Rubicon express Lift for the CJ. Infact I just ordered One for my Jeep. they are really complete and they convert your springs to the YJ springs so that the ride is better.
post #3 of (permalink) Old 06-17-2003, 05:23 PM
**DONOTDELETE**

304CJ7,
First off...Welcome
Second, fill in your info before Leve gets to you....
Third...good post...your asking the right questions and have an idea of where you want to go.
At this stage, your going to get a couple of different opinions regarding which way to go, so lets look at the big long term picture.