Lock Rite - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
Jeep-Short Wheelbase All discussion of short wheelbase Jeeps: CJ, TJ, YJ and JK

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of (permalink) Old 04-13-2003, 11:03 PM
**DONOTDELETE**

Lock Rite

I'm planning on purchasing the Lock Rite traction control differantials. As of now I can only afford 1 set. What would be better to get it for, the D30 front, or the D35 rear? How hard are they to install? The add says I can use common tools and that my ring and pinion wont be touched. Are they really worth it?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of (permalink) Old 04-13-2003, 11:10 PM
**DONOTDELETE**

Re: Lock Rite

Once again I am no expert on this topic...BUT i have talked to local 4x4 shops and they tend to tell me all the same. Be very careful of the lockers where you dont need to crack the diff. They tell me its kind of a "get what you pay for deal" This is just what I hear. You may want to give a call to you local 4x4 shop.
post #3 of (permalink) Old 04-13-2003, 11:16 PM
**DONOTDELETE**

What did they tell you? Do they cause any serious problems? I'm not really hard on my vehical. It is a daily driver that I take on the train on the weekends.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of (permalink) Old 04-13-2003, 11:20 PM
Keyboard Implanted

I believe that Lock Rite is an exellent locker for off road. It's cheap too. But it is a little harsh on the street. Be carefull, don't put money into axles that you may not be keeping long. I've never even driven a yj or tj but I read a lot that those axles aren't very strong if you off-road enough to need a locker.
post #5 of (permalink) Old 04-13-2003, 11:20 PM
Way Outta Control

Scare tactics so you'll have them do it.

You do "open" the diff, you do remove the ring gear, you do remove the side gears, then you install their gears, re-install everything as it was. They just give you instructions how to set everything back like it was.