line locks as parking brakes? - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
Jeep-Short Wheelbase All discussion of short wheelbase Jeeps: CJ, TJ, YJ and JK

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of (permalink) Old 02-24-2003, 06:12 PM Thread Starter

line locks as parking brakes?

has anyone ever heard of a line lock or rollstop kit that doesnt use constant power? someone told me a long time ago there was one that only need battery to set it and that was it. would it be a smart idea to use one of these as a parking brake?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of (permalink) Old 02-24-2003, 06:20 PM
Journeyman

Re: line locks as parking brakes?

Yes, I have been using one for several years. There was a post last year some time listing the part number but I can't find my notes. It was purchased at NAPA. I don't leave my vehicle unattended with the engine running with either of my parking brakes actuated and always put the trans in gear when the engine is off.

Gary M
post #3 of (permalink) Old 02-24-2003, 06:27 PM
Keyboard Implanted

Location: Tualatin, Oregon, United States of America, North America, Earth, Milkyway Galaxy, Universe...

I don't think I'd use it. I'd definatly not consider it an emergency brake!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of (permalink) Old 02-24-2003, 06:29 PM
Official Curmudgeon

I bought one from Whitney that doesn't use any electrical. It releases when you press on the brake, I'd rather have one the doesn't. Years ago, there used to be a lever type that really put pressure on the brakes, but that was before dual braking systems.

I have mixed feelings about using it for a parking brake, but will never delete the mechanical emergency brake. Yeah, I know I can put it in a low gear and shut of the engine, but I'll still have an e-brake.
post #5 of (permalink) Old 02-24-2003, 06:45 PM