wandering after lfit - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
Jeep-Short Wheelbase All discussion of short wheelbase Jeeps: CJ, TJ, YJ and JK

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of (permalink) Old 02-18-2003, 12:04 PM
**DONOTDELETE**

wandering after lfit

Hi everyone. This is my first time on this board and I'm a relative beginner to jeeps, though I've owned a few four bys in the past. Anyway nice to meet you all and now to what is probably a stupid newbie question...

I've just had a 4 1/2" suspension lift installed on my 94 YJ and now it wanders all over the highway. It used to drive very nicely pre-lift. Question is: why does it do this and how can I fix it? A local shop suggests a shackle reversal but I don't know...

Any help for an ignorant newbie would be greatly appreciated. Thanks all.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of (permalink) Old 02-18-2003, 12:15 PM

Re: wandering after lfit

Need more info-what kind of lift (brand) and how much of each?

Example Skyjacker 2" with 2" shackles. Shackles are the key to screwing up a good ride. Did you put on a shackle lift?
post #3 of (permalink) Old 02-18-2003, 12:29 PM

With a 4.5" lift did you get the dropped pitman arm? Did you install this or did a shop do it for you? Most times with a lift this high you will need to lenghten the drive shafts or use a dropped skid plate kit. The front pinion gets turned up causing the caster to decrease sometimes if shims are used to direct the pinion up for the driveshaft to keep it in line. We need a little more info what was used for the lift?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of (permalink) Old 02-18-2003, 01:18 PM
**DONOTDELETE**

Sorry about the lack of info. Its a Rubicon Express Extreme Duty 4 1/2" lift done by a shop. I assume (you know what they say about "assume") that is was done correctly. It looks correct to me but I'm obviously no expert.

Thanks again to everyone taking time to read.
post #5 of (permalink) Old 02-19-2003, 02:51 AM

Check: