Oil Leak at Distributor? - Easy fix ???? - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
Jeep-Short Wheelbase All discussion of short wheelbase Jeeps: CJ, TJ, YJ and JK

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of (permalink) Old 02-17-2003, 11:52 AM Thread Starter
Enthusiast

Oil Leak at Distributor? - Easy fix ????

My '84 CJ7 258 appears to have an oil leak at the distributor. Is this possible? I have resealed the alumina valve cover and don't think it is leaking down. If so I assume there is some sort of gasket that needs replacing. How do I do this job without completely screwing up my timing? I am not too good at setting timing and would rather avoid this if possible. Any guidance/suggestions as to the specifics of the job would be greatly appreaciated.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of (permalink) Old 02-17-2003, 12:36 PM

Re: Oil Leak at Distributor? - Easy fix ????

You have to pull out the distributor to change the gasket beneath its flange. If you are not prepared to re-set the timing yourself, I can't see how you can do this job as it would be very difficult to remove and re-install the distributor without changing the timing.

It's quite possible that it does leak oil at the distributor base. Mine seeps a bit there. Just in case its not, clean up that area thoroughly and make certain where it is coming from.
post #3 of (permalink) Old 02-17-2003, 01:18 PM