Wrangler Trannie - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
Jeep-Short Wheelbase All discussion of short wheelbase Jeeps: CJ, TJ, YJ and JK

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of (permalink) Old 12-28-2002, 07:33 PM
hhoodd1

Wrangler Trannie

A friend of mine has a 93 Wrangler with a 5 spd. Trannie, behind a 4 Clylinder. It keeps locking up in reverse. Have anybody heard if this is common, or if there is a transmission that would be better to swap, or does he needs to change mechanic? this will be the 5th time he has put in the shop. Even tho it is still under the warranty, it is not a good thing to happen in the woods. Thanks David
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of (permalink) Old 12-28-2002, 09:34 PM

Re: Wrangler Trannie

Has he replaced the tranny before? I haven't heard of this being common, it might be the synchros? I'm not a tranny expert, I know the good and bad points of the ones I might want, that's about it. It's not a real bad tranny, and if you've only got a 4 banger in there you're not going to need anythign stronger. Just my 2 cents.

-Jay
post #3 of (permalink) Old 12-28-2002, 10:10 PM

Was this the original problem or did it just start after a rebuild. Sounds like lockouts on the shift forks may be installed wrong. Does it only happen off road on rough terrain? [img]images/graemlins/burnout.gif[/img]
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of (permalink) Old 12-29-2002, 03:00 AM
hhoodd1