help me keep my jeep - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
Jeep-Short Wheelbase All discussion of short wheelbase Jeeps: CJ, TJ, YJ and JK

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of (permalink) Old 12-03-2002, 06:43 PM
**DONOTDELETE**

help me keep my jeep

I have an 89 yj with a 4.2 that is shot (110k miles). I have limited technical knowledge and neee advice on getting a new engine. I am a college student with very limited funds.
My three options are buy a rebuilt 4.2, find a salvage yard 4.0, or get $3000 for the rig at a push/pull/drag sale.
I would prefer to put in a 4.0 over the carborated 4.2 but will just any 4.0 from the junk yard bolt up to my automatic tranny or do I need adapters? Any other advice for the swap?

Thanks in advance for any help. [email protected]
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of (permalink) Old 12-03-2002, 06:56 PM
Keyboard Implanted

Re: help me keep my jeep

Although not a TOUGH swap (by swap standards) the 4.0 does require a bit of technical/electrical knowledge or at least some help, time, and a place to work on it for a while. You would be best off going this route, getting a running 4.0 from a later model YJ , the underhood wiring harness, the computer and computer wiring harness, and all related peripherals bolted to the motor. You will need a wiring schematic for both YOUR YJ and the Wrangler that the engine came out of so you can match up wiring...I don't think it is "Plug and Play". You will be much happier with the fuel injection and the 4.0 is a screamer of a motor.

The rebuilt 4.2 would be the easiest swap but probably a wash, money wise compared to the 4.0 (if you are using a used 4.0 and equiptment).