O/T Welder choices - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
Jeep-Short Wheelbase All discussion of short wheelbase Jeeps: CJ, TJ, YJ and JK

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of (permalink) Old 11-30-2002, 04:03 PM
Kingsmedic

O/T Welder choices

Weighing the cost between a commercialy available bumper/tire carrier/rack systems, I have decided to buy a welder and tools to do it myself. I have three welder choices and would like some input.I know some of you have the money and or access to the pro units, but recomending something more expensive than these is not helping.
1. Hobart Handler 175 mig(w/cart) found for $599
2. Lincoln SP 175T found for $650
3. Millermatic Challenger 175 found for $635
230v power is not a problem, I am a newbie at welding, but have a few friends who can help. What do you guys think of these? [img]images/graemlins/confused.gif[/img]
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of (permalink) Old 11-30-2002, 06:41 PM
Pooh-Bah

Re: O/T Welder choices

I recently stepped up from a 110v mig to the 230v/175A Hobart Handler and like it a lot. I went back and forth between the Miller 175 and the Hobart, but for the $100 difference I can live with stepped heat range versus variable and a different drive wheel. The HH welds nice and can really cook metal, seems like I can weld longer than the duty cycle states also.
post #3 of (permalink) Old 11-30-2002, 06:49 PM

All are great machines. You will do well with any of them.
But, since they make the hobarts right here in my town.........wouldn't hurt to help my local economy. [img]images/graemlins/wink.gif[/img]
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of (permalink) Old 11-30-2002, 07:47 PM
Keyboard Implanted

Location: Tualatin, Oregon, United States of America, North America, Earth, Milkyway Galaxy, Universe...

I got the Lincoln and LOVE it! Great deal on them too. Any will do you though.
post #5 of (permalink) Old 11-30-2002, 09:37 PM
Keyboard Implanted