Crawl Ratios? Fill me In - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
Jeep-Short Wheelbase All discussion of short wheelbase Jeeps: CJ, TJ, YJ and JK

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of (permalink) Old 11-30-2002, 01:03 AM
**DONOTDELETE**

Crawl Ratios? Fill me In

I'm new to learning about calculating crawl ratios... how do you figure crawl ratio? I'd say add up the First Gear Ratio of Tranny? Xfer Case Ratio? and then your Gear Ratio? plus some kind of tire calculation? I am very dumb to this so please guide me in the right direction. [img]images/graemlins/smirk.gif[/img]
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of (permalink) Old 11-30-2002, 01:44 AM
**DONOTDELETE**

Re: Crawl Ratios? Fill me In

Very close except you multiple not add. You will need to multiple axle ratio X transfercase Low X transmission Low (in automatics the torque conveter is generally considered to be a multiple of 2 to 3 in addition to the mechanical reduction) X any other crawler boxes of dual transfer cases you may have. THis will give you your crawl ratio. No atjustments are made for tire sizes or engine type power or torque or the RPM at which these are developed.

For this reason Crawl ratios are not nessisarally equal. A crawl ratio of 60 to 1 behind a Ford 300 inline six with 31 inch tires might give beter real life crawling abillity then a 100 to 1 behing a Ford 302 with 35 inch tires. Note: large tires requier a lower crawl ratio to acheave the same result, as smaller tires. Also an engine that tends to produce torque lower on the RPM scale will also need less crawl ratio to acheave the same result. In general the longer the stroke on a engine the lower the RPM at which it will develop max torque.