CJ - Is it the Jeep or teh battery - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
Jeep-Short Wheelbase All discussion of short wheelbase Jeeps: CJ, TJ, YJ and JK

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of (permalink) Old 11-27-2002, 10:51 AM Thread Starter

CJ - Is it the Jeep or teh battery

The battery will not hold enough juicy to turn the jeep over for more than a week at best. I have an optima red top thatís a year old. How can I find whatís causing this?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of (permalink) Old 11-27-2002, 10:55 AM
Keyboard Implanted

Re: CJ - Is it the Jeep or teh battery

One fast and easy way to tell if you battery is crapped out is to take it to a place and get it tested. Almost any place that works on car, or trucks has these testers. If the battery is bad, then replace it and see what happens. But I would bet that more likely a cause is a slow drain somewhere. I am no electric expert but someone here will be able to help you trouble shoot it.
post #3 of (permalink) Old 11-27-2002, 11:03 AM

You can pull the negative side battery cable loose from the battery and then take a volt ohm meter set to DC volts place one lead on the cable and one on the negative batt. post if you get a reading you have a power draw, this could be an electric clock or your radio if you have a power booster on the radio it could be that as well. If you have nothing that draws batt power when ignition is off its time to look for a short in your system this will have to be tracked down by isolating. This is time consuming! good luck
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of (permalink) Old 11-27-2002, 11:13 AM
Keyboard Implanted