Air compressor purchase - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
Jeep-Short Wheelbase All discussion of short wheelbase Jeeps: CJ, TJ, YJ and JK

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of (permalink) Old 11-21-2002, 09:45 PM Thread Starter
Veteran

Air compressor purchase

I am looking at getting an air compressor for my garage. It will be used for air wrenches mostly. I am not a mechanic and do not need or want a big buly expensive compressor. I am looking at one for $99.00, here are the specs.

2HP
4 gallon
Motor:115V, 60 Hz, 3450 RPM
Air delivery:
5.2 SCFM @ 40 PSI
4.2 SCFM @ 90 PSI
125 PSI maximum recommended pressure
Oil lubrication
Weight: 51 lbs.

I assume this will work just fine because the wrenches I am looking at require 4 CFM and 90PSI.

Will this work?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of (permalink) Old 11-22-2002, 12:19 AM

Re: Air compressor purchase

I would personally go for the bigest compressor you can afford. Right now all you want is to run air wrenches, next it will be air impact, then it will be a cut-off wheel or a die grinder. 4.2 @ 90 psi will not run a die grinder very well. But any air is better than no air. I know I do nto have a compressor yet. I need to run 220 out to the garage first. Let us know what you end up doing. Good luck.
post #3 of (permalink) Old 11-22-2002, 07:27 AM

I got one a while back from Home Depot - they had a sweet deal.
5HP, 13 Gallon, oilless. paid just over $CDN400. It came with:
1/2" impact wrench
paint sprayer
set of impact sockets
plus all the air accessories.

It will run everything but sanders just fine. The fact that it's oilless makes it a little noisy, but I have little ones that I didn't want getting their hands caught in moving parts.

I'd recommend getting a bigger one, just because once you get one and realize what you can do with it - you will want to use it more and more and you may find yourself upgrading sooner than you think.