New user intro/couple of YJ questions (kinda long) - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
Jeep-Short Wheelbase All discussion of short wheelbase Jeeps: CJ, TJ, YJ and JK

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of (permalink) Old 11-17-2002, 08:53 PM
**DONOTDELETE**

New user intro/couple of YJ questions (kinda long)

Hey all, new user here... I am pretty new to the Jeep world, and REAL new to the SWB Jeep world (picked up my '90 model Wrangler about 2 weeks ago). I'm looking forward to learning and helping as much as I can on the board!! [img]images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img] I also own a '77 model Cherokee Chief (360/TH400/QT), so I am already a little familiar with Jeep-type engineering.

I have some general automotive knowledge from @10 years of playing with muscle/pony cars and a bit of off-roading experience (mostly mud) from helping my friends with their (GM) trucks.

In any event, I have a few questions about my YJ that some of you may be able to answer... I have searched the history of the forum and haven't had any luck but I may have missed something (anything is possible), so if I ask something that has been beat to death in the past, please let me know.

Anyhoo, Question 1: The 2.5L 4 potter in my Wrangler has a warm (operating temp) idle of @1050 or so by the factory tach. This seems a bit high to me, but a friend tells me that 4 cylinders (in general) typically have higher idle speeds (when compared to 6- and 8-cylinder motors). Does this idle speed sound about right??

Question 2: Are the hydraulic clutch systems on these Jeeps notorious for having problems?? Pressing in my clutch seems to not completely uncouple the motor from the tranny (read: when engaging 1st/reverse at a dead stop, the Jeep "jumps" a little in addition to grinding gears at nearly every shift). I don't think that it's so much of a problem with the tranny synchros as much as it's an issue with the clutch hydraulics.