1998 4L - What would you do? - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
Jeep-Short Wheelbase All discussion of short wheelbase Jeeps: CJ, TJ, YJ and JK

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of (permalink) Old 11-06-2002, 07:40 AM
**DONOTDELETE**

1998 4L - What would you do?

We have a 1998 Wrangler 4L with 35,000 miles. Got the basics, 2" lift, wheels, tires, Gibson exhaust, lights, etc. But we need MORE power, and we have money to burn. We're gonna make it the winter project. Any suggestions. I'm new to the 4.0L I6... Thanks
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of (permalink) Old 11-06-2002, 10:57 AM
Keyboard Implanted

Re: 1998 4L - What would you do?

More power, money to burn...... sbc V8...... Lots of money to burn.... Big Block
post #3 of (permalink) Old 11-06-2002, 11:44 AM
**DONOTDELETE**

K&N FIPK, Mike Leech headers, Car Sound cat, bored throttle body, Ford injectors.

Or...rebuid the engine to a 4.6L stroker [img]images/graemlins/grin.gif[/img]

Call Clifford Performance.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of (permalink) Old 11-06-2002, 12:40 PM
Bduece

Sell the engine with the computer get at lest $1000 for it then look into a v8. You can sell the tranny and tcase too. Gives you more options if you do the whole drivetrain together. Look on ebay for what used parts are going for.
post #5 of (permalink) Old 11-06-2002, 01:29 PM
**DONOTDELETE**

How much power are you looking for? Were do you want the power upper RPM or low end?
By the way an extra of that money to burn would be greatly appreciated.
post #6 of (permalink) Old 11-06-2002, 02:28 PM
Can't Get Enough

There was a thread not too long ago that answered this. I remember the 4.0 upgrades for more power as:
1) K&N air filter
2)Performance chip
3)Header
4)Performance injectors (larger)
5)Better exhaust - cat back system with high flow cat
6)Stroke the 4.0
7)Internal engine mods
post #7 of (permalink) Old 11-06-2002, 04:21 PM
**DONOTDELETE**

Guys,
Lets do the #'s first.....