Question for any one who welds - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
Jeep-Short Wheelbase All discussion of short wheelbase Jeeps: CJ, TJ, YJ and JK

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of (permalink) Old 11-04-2002, 01:35 PM Thread Starter

Question for any one who welds

I am not a welder, nor have i ever welded. I am interested in starting it as a hobbie however. Can you recommend a good starter welder (<500$) and what kind of welder to get (TIG, MIG, Stick, Wire...) I am looking to fabricate parts for my jeep.

I do know that the less expensive welders have a lower duty time. I guess that means you can weld for a short time, then you have to let the unit cool. something like that. any information or website would be useful.

Thanks,
Eric
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of (permalink) Old 11-04-2002, 01:48 PM

Re: Question for any one who welds

I'm by no means an expert, in fact I am a beggining welder like you. I picked up a Lincoln Pro-Mig 135 for $427 and couldn't be happier with it. It runs on 115 volts, and can be used with or without shielding gas depending on what wire you use. It has been easy to re-learn (haven't welded since high school) with. I also bought an auto darkening SpeedGlas welding helmet and it has made welding a much more enjoyable experince.
post #3 of (permalink) Old 11-04-2002, 02:20 PM

Dan, have you used it for any body work? I'm also looking...
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of (permalink) Old 11-04-2002, 02:57 PM
**DONOTDELETE**

Hey, I hope we get some informed opinions on this thread! I'm in the same boat your in, and keep getting a lot of conflicting info. I'm looking for a small 110 welder, and have looked into the 110 ARC welders. Have heard that they don't have the juice to penetrate properly, etc. Mig is also a good choice, but I have heard similar stories about the 110 Migs.