Info on my Jeep Project - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
Jeep-Short Wheelbase All discussion of short wheelbase Jeeps: CJ, TJ, YJ and JK

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of (permalink) Old 10-26-2002, 12:17 AM Thread Starter

Info on my Jeep Project

I have posted a few times and mentioned my Jeep project and I thought I should post an outline of the project so you will all know what Im up to.

First a little information about me. I was an auto technician for 15 years but due to a back injury requiring surgery I had to make a career change and am going to college for PC/LAN. I bought my first Jeep at 18 and fixed it up over the years have been hooked ever since. I still own that Jeep but after a body/frame rust out and finding a used frame but no $ for body it was made into a swamp buggy when I lived in Naples Florida. (Ill post pics sometime) Ive also built a VW rail buggy and a few other cars and trucks. Since moving back to Minnesota I always longed for another Jeep. About a month ago my wish came true when a buddy of mine gave me a Jeep for doing some work on his other one. So now me and my son have a project.

Its nothing fancy it was basically a rust bucket with fenders hanging off any everything. It already has had the 55 gal drum of bondo put all over it. Its an 81 CJ-7 with the GM 151, 4 speed, D-300, D-30, AMC-20 according to the axle code it has 4:11s. It will end up being strictly a trail vehicle and not see highway use. With me not working this is going to be a low budget project so nothing shinny or fancy if it doesnt help off road performance I dont need it. Did I forget to say I have the world greatest wife because she is working 2 jobs and gave me the go ahead on this project and she hates 4-wheeling.The goals of this project are as follows:
1. Extremely low budget $1000 - $1500
2. Build a unique trail worthy, dependable, strictly business, off road only vehicle
3. Will be locked F&R and have 31x15.50x15 Terra tires