Wanted advice and opinions/ engin/tranny upgrade - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
Jeep-Short Wheelbase All discussion of short wheelbase Jeeps: CJ, TJ, YJ and JK

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of (permalink) Old 10-22-2002, 10:47 PM Thread Starter
pig

Wanted advice and opinions/ engin/tranny upgrade

I have an84 CJ7 the 6 popper took a dump , I have aquired a 304and a 350 Chevy ,a th3504x4trans ,a NP203 transfer case for sale. Also have 2- 258,s in need of rebuild from carb to oil pan for sale CHEAP. I have 2-T176 trannys, 2dana 300transfer cases, Im picking up a t18 out of 77 ford P/U with 2 wheel drive this weekend . Im also looking for and going to aquire a dana 44 front and rear. I have over 25 years experience as a toolmaker and limited access to machine shop machines. Ive had my jeep for about 3 years now . and love to play in the mud. I live in a suburb of Clevelaan Ohio And like most other people I have a tight budget. Im looking for any tech data and especially blueprints. as a side note while repairing the radiator on my 89 chevy van I found that the fan shroud fits my CJ like it was made for it ! Id appreciate any feedback since Im going nuts with all my options.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of (permalink) Old 10-22-2002, 10:53 PM
**DONOTDELETE**

Re: Wanted advice and opinions

Both engines complete you got? I'd say if either needs rebuilding I'd go with the 350... Alot of people here are yet again biased with taking out a jeep engine and putting in a chevy. Why not go bigger axles if your still looking for some? Bigger is better. Your going to want to upgrade more in the long run may as well do it now right? As for the tranny... your choice. IMO - chevy and bigger axles. [img]images/graemlins/cool.gif[/img]
post #3 of (permalink) Old 10-22-2002, 10:59 PM Thread Starter
pig