Locker Question - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
Jeep-Short Wheelbase All discussion of short wheelbase Jeeps: CJ, TJ, YJ and JK

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of (permalink) Old 10-20-2002, 05:43 PM
**DONOTDELETE**

Locker Question

I'm new to the 4x4 world. I recently got my lisence and bought a 1995 Jeep Wrangler. It's a 4 cyl. 5-speed with 31" tires and everything is stock. Anyway, today was my first time on the trail and I got stuck in a rut and only my front right and my rear left spun. A buddy of mine told me that installing a locker will help my off road ablity greatly. Can someone tell me what type of locker you recomend. The jeep is still used as a daily driver, I will be driving it back and forth to school everyday. Thanks alot for all your help.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of (permalink) Old 10-20-2002, 05:59 PM

Re: Locker Question

Well if you want the best of both worlds an arb or ox is the way to go, but then again those are the most expensive. I would probably just put a lockrite f&r because they are inexpensive and aren't bad on the road.
post #3 of (permalink) Old 10-20-2002, 07:28 PM
**DONOTDELETE**

I was looking through my JC Whiney catalog and I found the Powertrax Lock Right system. It says that its very easy to install, performs great on and off road and only $260. Does anyone own or have ever driven a Jeep with one of these in? If so how did it perform? Is it worth it? Also, I'm not sure if I have open or limited-slip differentials. Thank you all for your help and sorry for all the stupid questions.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of (permalink) Old 10-20-2002, 09:32 PM
Old Hand

Just getting into off-roading I would not suggest a locker as your first upgrade.

First you should wheel a couple more times to make sure you want to continue doing so, and then if you still like to wheel you can upgrade..