Worried about throughout bearing. What will happen - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
Jeep-Short Wheelbase All discussion of short wheelbase Jeeps: CJ, TJ, YJ and JK

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of (permalink) Old 10-18-2002, 05:37 PM
**DONOTDELETE**

Worried about throughout bearing. What will happen

My dad said to wait until the throughout bearing goes out. Im new to learning about clutches but what will happen when that bearing does go out.

Im thinking either wont be able to get in gear or when i do get it in gear the gears will just wind and i wont get any forward motion.

If this happens in the middle of the road ne one got ne quick fixes or bright ideas. Im pretty sure 4H wont help either =(.

OH well.

"If nothing falls off, It's not a Jeep"
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of (permalink) Old 10-18-2002, 10:10 PM
Keyboard Implanted

Re: Worried about throughout bearing. What will ha

The information below is "possible" but not recommended ...do so at your own risk to vehicle and/or motoring public (or yourself)

If you can't use your clutch pedal ...in emergency situations (as in no repair facility within reasonable distance) ..you need to defeat your clutch safety switch and just start the thing in gear and learn to use the engine speed ot move between the respective gears ...you can do it with your clutch currently working for practice. Just apply a slight pressure to the stick and go from a "power" to a "coast" condition and the trans will come out of gear. Now gently hold the stick against the next gear and give a little burp to the gas pedal and it will go into that gear ...accellerate as needed ...downshifting is quite similar. Stopping and restarting requires the stopping of the engine and a restart with the foot to the floor while cranking in 1st gear.