2.5" spring lift, what else is needed? - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
Jeep-Short Wheelbase All discussion of short wheelbase Jeeps: CJ, TJ, YJ and JK

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of (permalink) Old 09-12-2002, 03:28 PM
**DONOTDELETE**

2.5\" spring lift, what else is needed?

I'm new to this JEEP thing and recently bought a bone stock '93 YJ. The first order of business is to lift her about 2.5" and put some bigger rubber on it. I see that Pro-Comp sells a 2.5" spring lift with shocks but doesn't include any of the other stuff usually associated with the bigger lifts (track bar relo, sway bar connects, t-case lowering). For a YJ with just a 2.5" lift, is none of this needed? Any advice would be appreciated.

Thanks
Dan
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of (permalink) Old 09-12-2002, 03:32 PM
Official Historian

Re: 2.5\" spring lift, what else is needed?

As LEVE will tell you, read the top post.

I have pro-crap springs on mine. I and others will tell you to avoid pro-crap. They ride very rough.
post #3 of (permalink) Old 09-12-2002, 05:39 PM
**DONOTDELETE**

I have a 2 1/2 ProComp kit on my 93 YJ. It rides ok but I am comparing it to the 4" lift on my 78 CJ5 (anything will feel like a better ride) and my 01 TJ. (I do not expect leaf springs to ride better than coil.) My kit came with everyting that I needed (including shocks) from Central Four Wheel Drive. Only the front brake line relocate hangers did not work.

Don't get me wrong, I am not saying that the nay sayers are off base. I needed new springs to replace two bent ones and that kit was priced right and available without having to wait.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of (permalink) Old 09-12-2002, 06:22 PM
Old Hand