what to get? - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
Jeep-Short Wheelbase All discussion of short wheelbase Jeeps: CJ, TJ, YJ and JK

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of (permalink) Old 09-04-2002, 07:57 PM
**DONOTDELETE**

what to get?

Ok as u may or may not know i'm just getting started in the off road world. I'm looking to buy a used jeep. I don't wana spend more than $5,000. I wana be able to mod the jeep, like lift it and stuff. Whats a good jeep, i hear of CJ5s....but who makes thouse? I'm looking at wranglers. But i'm open for ideas. Thanks
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of (permalink) Old 09-04-2002, 08:31 PM
Carpal \'Tunnel

Re: what to get?

Do you mean who makes a CJ-5? Because of course that is Jeep. They were made for about 30 years up until 1983 I think, but I know someone will correct me. There are a lot of old Jeeps out there. A term you will hear a lot is CJ. CJ's are the older style Jeep and come in 2's through 8's. Do a search online and you can learn the differences. After the CJ was the YJ also known as the Wrangler. Then came the TJ which is what you will mostly see on the road now. Shop around and it shouldn't be too hard to find a good Jeep in your price range. Remember when you find a Jeep you like to add in the cost of gas and insurance. You may want to call some insurance companies before you purchase anything to get a quote. Also remember that once you get it you will want to do so many things to it that the list will go on and on and can potentially ruin your social life. Tip #1: Don't constantly talk about your new purchase every waking moment of the day with your friends, it'll drive them nuts and they just won't get what the big deal is.
post #3 of (permalink) Old 09-05-2002, 12:45 PM
**DONOTDELETE**