New Jeeper - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
Jeep-Short Wheelbase All discussion of short wheelbase Jeeps: CJ, TJ, YJ and JK

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of (permalink) Old 09-04-2002, 10:04 AM Thread Starter

New Jeeper

Well, I'm new to the jeep world, and my introduction to it was my latest purchase... a 1988 Jeep Wrangler with the 258 and the dreaded carter BBD. After beating my head against the fender with the carb, I replaced it with a rebuilt, and all has been (so far) right with the world. I even took it off-road a bit and even with the stock (read: beat) springs, crappy radials, and new driver, this thing could go places I didn't think you could make a wheeled vehicle go.

Needless to say... I'm hooked. I'm already planning upgrades. Any good starting pointers? I've been lurking around, but haven't been able to find anything beginner oriented. Beginner to jeeps that is; I've been twisting wrenches for 13 years.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of (permalink) Old 09-04-2002, 10:13 AM
Keyboard Implanted

Re: New Jeeper

1. welcome to the BEST jeep forum on the net.
2. keep your profile filled out as completely as possible.
3. first mod for any jeep that goes off road is a roll cage.
post #3 of (permalink) Old 09-04-2002, 10:40 AM

Welcome. You've got a lot of fun in your future.

As for modifications, don't worry about that. As you get experience you will know what you want to change. If you go offroad in mud, you might want to make engine modifications for more power. If you get into rock, you might want lower gears and lift. If it's woods trails and fireroads, you might not need to change anything. If you go hard core, you're going to want lockers and a winch no matter where you go.

Don't borrow troubles from the future. They'll get here soon enough.

Happy wheeling.

Edited: Except for what Leve said about a roll cage, and a fire extinguisher and first aid kit, too. But they're not really mods.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement