Help....Rebuilding a 1977 CJ5 - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
Jeep-Short Wheelbase All discussion of short wheelbase Jeeps: CJ, TJ, YJ and JK

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of (permalink) Old 08-27-2002, 09:37 PM
**DONOTDELETE**

Help....Rebuilding a 1977 CJ5

I have inherited the 77 CJ5 that my grandad bought several years ago to pull behind his motorhome. We did lots of things together in it and it has a special place with me. I would like to rebuild it to get in perfect shape for me to use and eventually to give to my son. I have been driving it as is for several years and it is awesome. I go to the mountains in Northern New Mexico and in Colorado and it has never let me down. It is now starting to have a few problems. I was hoping that someone could help me with the parts I should use. It has a AMC 304 with a t150 3 speed a Dana 30 Front axle and an amc 20 rear. I have worked on cars before some and I am a engineer, but I am not sure of what it takes to build a good Jeep. What parts can I rebuild, what parts can I buy new original, and what parts should I try to beef up. Any help would be appreciated.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of (permalink) Old 08-27-2002, 10:16 PM
Enthusiast

Re: Help....Rebuilding a 1977 CJ5