Tires...? - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
Jeep-Short Wheelbase All discussion of short wheelbase Jeeps: CJ, TJ, YJ and JK

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of (permalink) Old 07-30-2002, 12:35 PM
**DONOTDELETE**

Tires...?

Hey guys, once again a relatively newbie here, lookin' to put some 31" on my TJ - any recommendations? With stock wheels what's the widest you can go? Thanks so much, as always!

Ashley
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of (permalink) Old 07-30-2002, 03:10 PM

Re: Tires...?

Ashley, you have asked the eternal jeep question. Tire choice depends on a lot of things

1. The type of wheeling you do.
2. How often you wheel.
3. How is your jeep set up
etc. etc.

I see you are in PA, I don't know the area, but from what I hear there is a fair bit of mud, and not a whole lot of rocks. I am assuming you are using your Jeep as your daily driver still, so really agressive tires probably are out of the question. For that type of terrain I would recommend the Goodyear MT/R's, that's what I use, not really loud on the road, great off-road traction, stiff sidewall, runs great at low pressure.

I know a lot of guys/gals use the BFG Mud-Terrain, and for a good all round tire, try the BFG All-Terrain.

As far as width, that can be a little tricky. If you Jeep still has the wheels in the picture on your website, then I don't know if any of the above tires would fit, those rims look awfully thin. If you can find out how wide those rims are (I'm assuming the are 15" diameter), then you can use this chart to determine what fits(for the MT/R's)

www.bfgoodrichtires.com

Keep in mind that although 31" tires fit under a TJ, you might have slight rubbing on the control arms or other suspension parts when you turn your steering wheel to full lock. I do, but it isn't enough to worry about.

Hope this helps

Rob
post #3 of (permalink) Old 07-30-2002, 03:55 PM
Yukonart