i need some pro advice ........i am lost - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
Jeep-Short Wheelbase All discussion of short wheelbase Jeeps: CJ, TJ, YJ and JK

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of (permalink) Old 06-28-2002, 02:50 AM
**DONOTDELETE**

i need some pro advice ........i am lost

i have a 90yj 258 w/weber. 4" skyjacker lift on 33's and a one inch shackle lift. i am in the process of adding a borla header. broomsticking my cat and finnishing with a pacesetter cat-back. and man i have created some problems.
i am a marine outboard mechanic and some of the auto stuff stumps me. there is a world of difference between boats and jeeps.

1) front axle vacum lines where discarded when i put in the weber and trashed the stock system. i am now stuck at 2wd.
is the cable system the best way to go to get 4wd back. and is it easy to install?

2)the directions that came with the weber were not to informative and i need more detailed scematics. were do i look.

3)my intake mainfold and exhaust manifold are leaking. i used marine gasket sealant and a "paper" gasket to fix it the first time. that lasted for about ten miles. what will work?

4)what's the deal with the slip yoke eliminator? is there any cheaper way to fix a leaking t-case?

5)what temp is best for the amc258?....195?...210?

the gremlins have built a colony in my jeep. i would appreciate any advise.
i can help if anybody has outboard motor problems.
10hp-300hp omc
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of (permalink) Old 06-28-2002, 04:11 AM
Veteran

Re: i need some pro advice ........i am lost

1) I never trusted that vacuum thing, go cable (4wd.com, quadratec.com, etc)

2) Dont know jack about webers (sorry)

3) Get a good gasket, and a tube of the permatex copper stuff

4) SYE is good, if you cant afford it now, try a new rear seal

5) A bit of discussion on this lately, ill leave it to the masters

not much, but hope it helps

-web
post #3 of (permalink) Old 06-28-2002, 04:40 AM