why did you pick that model jeep?? - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
Jeep-Short Wheelbase All discussion of short wheelbase Jeeps: CJ, TJ, YJ and JK

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of (permalink) Old 05-28-2002, 01:34 PM
**DONOTDELETE**

why did you pick that model jeep??

i've been watching the board here for a few weeks now and trying to get a handle on who runs what vehicle and i'm just wondering why you went with the cj/yj/tj (or other) you're driving? i'm sure there are a lot of variables to consider, but will some of you share?

my question mostly stems from the fact that i'm new to the jeep world and while i own a 00 cherokee, i know nothing about them. i'm marrying a guy (4 more days of freedom...) who is totally jeep crazy and i'm really considering getting another jeep so that i can join in all the fun. problem is, i don't know which would suit me the best and i like how all of them look (hey, i'm a female, looks ARE important!). it'll probably get used for moderate trails (we live in md so there's not that much around) some daily driving and the jamborees/car shows in the area. thoughts?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of (permalink) Old 05-28-2002, 01:37 PM
Official Historian

Re: why did you pick that model jeep??

For me it was what I could afford to buy in 1994. Since then, it's just kept evolving. If I were to start fresh, I'd go with a YJ or TJ. That is just based on them having stronger frames than my several times patched CJ frame.
post #3 of (permalink) Old 05-28-2002, 01:50 PM
Keyboard Implanted

well, after having two XJ's and a ZJ, I settled on my CJ5. reasons being, Nostalgia, Character, Simplicity, and my dad and uncles had them when I was a toddler and always wanted one for myself. Also, I'm able to do 90% of the work myself. not to mention annual insurance and tax come in at under $270 total [img]images/icons/laugh.gif[/img]

Brent
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of (permalink) Old 05-28-2002, 01:53 PM