Clutch Problems, New Disk Comes Apart! - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
Jeep-Short Wheelbase All discussion of short wheelbase Jeeps: CJ, TJ, YJ and JK

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of (permalink) Old 04-22-2002, 10:26 AM Thread Starter
Can't Get Enough

Clutch Problems, New Disk Comes Apart!

I am no clutch expert, and I need feedback on this. I have a T-19 mated to my 4.2. When I rebuilt the drivetrain 4 years ago, I installed a new clutch, pressure plate, etc... from the local auto parts store. I also had the flywheel resurfaced. Well, since then the jeep has racked up about 4k miles, about half of those miles were behind a tow vehicle. I am guessing less than 2k miles on the clutch. The machine marks on the flywheel are not even dulled, let alone worn yet. The clutch disc has writing on the face that is still readable.

The problem is, the disc came apart. The center section became unattached from the disc. So, I have a couple of questions.

1) Could there have been something wrong with the installation, or did I just get a bad disc? I installed the entire drivetrain as a unit, I don't believe I damaged anything during installation, Plus I am sure the disk was installed in the correct possition. (not backwards)

2) Do I need to replace everything as commonly done when doing a clutch, or can I just replace the disc since everything else shows no wear?

3) What are the recommendations as far as name brand replacements go, I am considering "LUKE" or NAPA brand if no one suggests different.

4) I know, this is a bad question, but since this is no longer a stock jeep, what parts, do I ask for. i.e. clutch for a xxxx year ???? truck with yy spine input? How about for the pilot bearing?