Finally!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! - Off-Road Forums & Discussion Groups
Jeep-Short Wheelbase All discussion of short wheelbase Jeeps: CJ, TJ, YJ and JK

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of (permalink) Old 04-19-2002, 10:09 AM
**DONOTDELETE**

Finally!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

After months of checking the board out and finally getting everything figured out i have a question. First one, so here it goes. I'm building my first rockcrawler out of a 1 ton blazer that I built a while ago. Cut the frame, shortened the wheelbase to 98 inches and slapped a cj-3b body that i had laying around. I have the engine, 350 chevy by trade, and have my choice of tranny's, 350 turbo or 465. I want to stack two transfer cases together but dont have the know how of the adapters or want the hassle of trying to figure it out. Could I use a 205 married case to a divorced transfer case and get the dual case setup that is desired? What problems would I have? I know the front drive shaft would be long but if I build it strong enough (they will come....field of dreams), everything should work? Will I get the desired multiplication of gears? Please tell me this will work. Need lots of help here. Missing link to my project..
DCB
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of (permalink) Old 04-19-2002, 10:20 AM
**DONOTDELETE**

Re: Finally!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Well, if you've only got a 98" wheelbase, I'm not so sure you'll have room for the tranny, t-case, intermediate shaft, second t-case, and rear driveshaft. A divorced 205 setup would be pretty simple to find...but if you use 2 205s, you're only getting 4:1 t-case multiplication (2:1 low range, in 2 t-cases). So you could just use ONE t-case with 4:1 gears in it and have the same thing, without the extra weight, complexity, or intermediate shaft.